Fighting Bison Win Morrow Cup in Overtime Thriller


(Photo Credit: CCBLL)
The Fighting Bison would pull through in overtime to win the second Colorado Collegiate Box Lacrosse League (CCBLL) Morrow Cup. The Fighting Bison swept the finals as they went 2-0 against the Red Hawks.
This was a tight game from the opening whistle as we saw a lot of action on both ends of the floor. The first period was more of a defensive battle as we saw a ton of physical defensive play in the middle of the period. Although there was a lot of defense we saw some scoring early on in the period. The Fighting Bison started the scoring early with a goal from TK Hammond. The Red Hawks would answer with a two goal run where we would see Bryan Hancock and Jake Govett score to make it 2-1 Red Hawks. There would be a four minute scoring drought before Nate Marano would score to get the Fighting Bison going again and tie things up at 2 all. Quinn McKone would finish the period off with a Red Hawks goals that gave them a 3-2 lead heading into the second period.
In the Second Period we would see a ton pf scoring from both squads as the game heated up and the teams were battling it out even more. The Red Hawks would start off the scoring but the Fighting Bison would have a quick two goal answer. During that early two goal run from the Fighting Bison to tie it up at 4 all we would see goals from Josh James and Eric Pacheo. Both squads would each get two straight before trading goals to end the period. The Red Hawks would get goals from Quinn McKone and Bobby Goggin and the Fighting Bison would get goals from TK Hammond and Nate Marano. The quarter would end with both teams trading goals back and fourth. The Fighting Bison would end the quarter with a Connor Donahue goal. For the Red Hawks they would score two goals via Bobby Goggin and Jake Govett to end the quarter with them ahead 8-7.
We would see some phenomenal play in the third as we would see some big runs from each squad offensively as they continued to battle it out. After the Red Hawks started the scoring with a AJ Guralas goal the Fighting Bison would go on a four goal run to give them an 11-8 lead. During that run the Fighting Bison would see Graeme Warner, Trevor Baptiste, Josh James, and Connor Donahue score goals. Bobby Goggin would answer with two goals for the Red Hawks to make it a one goal 11-10 game. Nate Marano would get the Fighting Bison back up two as he found the back of the net twice in a row. The momentum looked to be going all the Fighting Bison’s way but the Red Hawks would comeback two goals from Jake Govett and AJ Guralas. Guralas goal would be with eight seconds left on the clock as he sent it to overtime with the game tied at 13.
Fighting Bison goalie Skylar Whinery would make a huge save to get them possession after the Red Hawks first shot of overtime. On the first possession Josh James would find the back of the net to win the game for the Fighting Bison 14-13. The Fighting Bison would take home the Morrow Cup in the second CCBLL season.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s