Outlaws Capture Third Title in Five Years

(Photo Credit: Joshua Kelly/Pretty Instant)
In a pretty back and fourth offensive battle type game game the Denver Outlaws dynasty would prevail. the Outlaws would be able to use a big third quarter to get ahead and help them defeat the Dallas Rattlers to win the MLL Championship. The 2018 MLL Championship is the Outlaws third in five years. 
Denver would get going early on in the game as Zach Currier got things started. That Currier goal would just be the first of a three goal run for Denver as they ate that Dallas defense up early on. Romar Dennis and Matt Kavanagh would each score one to give Denver an early 3-0 lead. Dallas wouldn’t be shut down that easy as they came back in a big way. Dallas countered with their own offensive attack as Ned Crotty, Jordan Wolf, Randy Staats, and Jordan Wolf would help get Denver a 4-3 lead late in the first. Eric Law and Matt Kavanagh would score to make it a 5-4 Denver lead at the end of the first. 
The first quarter was full of offense but the second would have more as there were ten combined goals scored in this quarter. It really back and fourth offensively as it seemed like almost every possession there was a goal scored. 
Dallas would start the scoring off in the second as John Rannagan and Jordan Wolf would score within the first few minutes of the quarter to put Dallas up 6-5. Chris Cloutier would get a a goal fro Denver just few possessions later to tie things up at 6-6. After that Cloutier goal Dallas would find their offensive step again with a energizing three goal run. During that run Randy Staats would have two and Ryan McNamara would get one. 
Coming out of the timeout Denver would would come out firing as the scored four straight, three in just over a minute, to finish the half. During that Denver run Mikie Schlosser would have two while Zach Currier and Kylor Bellistri would each get one a piece. That late second quarter spark from Denver would give them a one goal 10-9 lead heading into the halftime. 
That energy that Denver had at the end of the first half would be carried over into the second half as well. Denver would be able to take over and Dallas really couldn’t get the lead back no matter how many goals or possessions they were able to get. 
The third would start with Denver getting three straight goals to extend their run. Finn Sullivan, Chris Cloutier, and Josh Hawkins would all score for Denver during that three goal stretch. As the ball would bounce back and fourth for a few possessions there would be some great defense played by both sides to keep the other silent. It would be Dallas who would break that defensive stand as John Ranagan would sting one past John Galloway. Kylor Bellistri would score for Denver and Ned Crotty would score for Dallas to end the third. 
Heading into the fourth Denver would hold a 14-11 lead. In would be a slower quarter in the fourth as the defense did step more on both sides of the field as Denver tried to stay ahead and Dallas tried to get back in it. The first goal of the fourth would come by way of Matt Kavanagh to put Denver up 15-11 early in the fourth. We would see two goals midway through the quarter as Ty Thompson scored for Dallas and Matt Kavanagh would get another one for Denver to put this game away. That Kavanagh goal would secure the 16-12 victor for Denver as the captured their third MLL Championship in five years. 

One thought on “Outlaws Capture Third Title in Five Years

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s