President’s Cup Heading Back to Kahnawake

Photo Credit Greg Horn
The CLA has announced that the 2019 President’s Cup will be held in Kahnawake, Quebec from August 26th to September 1st. The Kahnawake Mohawks of the Quebec Senior Lacrosse League (QSLL) will be the host team for the tournament. This will be the third time that the tournament has been held in Kahnawake as they played host to the 2000 and 2013 President’s Cup’s as well.
Kahnawake Sports Complex will be the venue for the tournament just like it was in 2000 and 2013. The President’s Cup is Canada’s men’s senior B box lacrosse championship. The championship brings all the senior B provincial champions together for one week long tournament to determine who can claim themselves as the senior B national champions, or in this case President’s Cup Champions. 
The host team Kahnawake Mohawks has captured five silver medals with the most recent coming in 2016. The other four were in 1968, 1979, 2004, and 2013. 
Last year the 2018 President’s Cup was held in Nanaimo, British Columbia as the St. Albert Miners won their third straight championship. The Miners have completed the first three peat since the Fergus Thistles when they won three straight from 1986, 1987, and 1988. Only three teams have ever won three President’s Cup’s in a row and no team has ever completed a four peat.
More information will be released as we draw closer to the tournament next August and September. The official website of the President’s Cup is where the majority of information will be released.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s