WILC 2019 Team Preview: Netherlands

Photo Courtesy of Netherlands Box Lacrosse


The Netherlands have announced their roster and coaching staff for the 2019 World Indoor Lacrosse Championships (WILC) that will be held in Langley, British Columbia in September. The Netherlands are the second team, after Finland, to announce their roster and coaching staff for the 2019 WILC, which will be their first FIL Box event. 

Last time we saw Netherlands in an international box lacrosse tournament was at the inaugural European Box Lacrosse Championships (EBLC) back in 2017 in Turku, Finland. In the 2017 EBLC Netherlands finished in last place out of 14 teams. However, that was their first international box lacrosse tournament.

Since then they have played in the 2018 E-Box and they had a team in the Frank Menscher Cup this past fall. They also have a Dutch Box Lacrosse League as well. So, the Dutch have most certainly gotten better since last time they were last time out. 

Netherlands has a stellar coaching staff as Neal Powless will be their head coach with Wayne Colley and Arttu Sesselaar as assistants.

Head coach Neal Powless played seven years in the NLL winning a championship with the Rochester Knighthawks in 1997.He also played with the Iroquois Nationals and the Six Nations Chiefs of the MSL.

Assistant coach Wayne Colley is a member of the Canadian Lacrosse Hall Of Fame. He won three Mann Cup’s with the Brooklin Redmen (1987,88,90) as a goaltender. Assiatant Coach Arttu Sesselaar is a Netherlands native and has been involved in the lacrosse community for quite some time now as a player and now coach. Sesselaar played on the Netherlands team at the 2017 EBLC.

Some of the key players will be forward Ryan Keenan and goalie Kevin Orleman as both are Canadian imports and have some kind of NLL experience. Don Claassen and Thijs Bijoo will also be key guys as they were two of the leaders for Netherlands at the 2017 EBLC. 


Aaron Von der Horst

Dan Ball

Daniel Velleman

Davie Vuurboom

Don Claassen

Graham Bergsma

Iepe Bouw

Ingmar Klienbannik

Jan Van Wanrooij – G

Josh Tougri

Kevin de Bruin – G

Kevin Orleman – G

Lino Kragtwijk

Lars de Graaff

Maarten Versteeg

Ross Parsons

Rutger van Bennekum

Ryan Keenan

Thijs Bijloo

Thom Gall

Timon Weitkamp

Toon Claassen

Wieland Muskens



One thought on “WILC 2019 Team Preview: Netherlands

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s